St Albans Fencing Club Open Air competition 2011

On Sunday I had the pleasure of competing in St Albans Fencing Club’s annual Open Air competition.  In the moments when I was not actually fencing I was making the most of having a camera and took some photos.  At the previous open air competitions I had taken many photos of the fencers in action.  This year though the venue had changed and the new background for all the photos was a very unpleasant looking building and in all the fencing photos the backgrounds were really distracting.  This is one example of what I mean. 

During another lapse in actual fencing I took the chance to photograph the cups and medals inside.  For this I used my external flashgun as it was quite gloomy.  I made use of my camera’s depth of field capabilities to achieve a blurring effect going into the distance.

At the end of the day, after some epic fencing bouts, the cups and medals were given out.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t quite good enough to recieve one.  Better luck next year!

 

One thought on “St Albans Fencing Club Open Air competition 2011

Go on, leave a reply!

